Little People’s upcoming new full-length album Landloper is now available for pre-order, ahead of the Jan. 11, 2019 official release date. Click here to pre-order the album on vinyl or digital and take a listen to the initial three singles.


Landloper is Little People’s first release since 2015, where he returns with an album that is both beautiful and complex – much like the journey it took to release it.

In 2014, Laurent Clerc – aka Little People – decided to move to Portland, OR to allow himself to concentrate on writing new music. Laurent spent a fruitful year in Oregon, drawing inspiration from the wild beauty of the Pacific North West. Shortly after his move, a new EP and a successful 6-week North American tour opening for Odesza followed. It’s around this time that the first sketches of Landloper started to take shape.

For Laurent making music is all about the process – each sound used on his latest album were created with a technical idea in mind. Either with a modular synthesizer or using digital means, Laurent draws inspiration from the set of tools at his disposal. Electronic music is a giant playground to explore and tinker with. The new album has a warmth and lofi aesthetic that is at odds with Laurent’s meticulous nature – but everything has been crafted to be deliberately just so. Constantly looking to add imperfections to beautiful sounds – rendering them more abrasive and alive. There are contrasts between the lush string quartet arrangements and off kilter angular beats, with subtle details in each track which co-exist alongside broader melodic themes. The music on Landloper travels through a number of sonic palettes, borrowing elements from different sub-genres to eventually form a cohesive whole.

Laurent worked with a number of collaborators this time round – expanding beyond just instrumental works. Whilst in Portland he worked with Reva Devito (HW&W Recordings) whose vocals were chopped and re-purposed  – providing a vocal thread throughout the whole album. Laurent also collaborated with Rahel Debebe-Dessalegne (Hejira, Matthew Herbert, Floating Points) making up three key songs on the album. The lead single track Skies Turn Blue which features Tif Lamson (GIVERS) was an effortless collaboration between 2 very different artists.

Landloper officially releases on Jan. 11, 2019 via Future Archive Recordings.

Track Listing:

01. PDX
02. Skies Turn Blue (feat. Tif Lamson)
03. How To Navigate
04. Embrace (feat. Rahel)
05. Tonight
06. Don’t Give Up (feat. Rahel)
07. Lozenge Less
08. All The Wonders (feat. Rahel)
09. Rouge
10. Slow Shimmer
11. Maybe It’s Wrong
12. Talk To Me
13. Sponk

More about Little People here.